Awards and Recognition

The following awards and recognition were received in 2013.

Joyce Batcheller, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, selected to serve on the advisory board of the Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing at Texas Tech University.

Joyce Batcheller, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, chosen to participate in the 2013 class of Leadership America, the preeminent and longest-running women’s development program in the U.S. during three sessions in Washington, D.C., Los Angeles and Detroit.

Vicki Batson, PhD, MSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, awarded the 2013 Surgical Services Nurse of the Year by the Austin chapter of AORN, the Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses.

Sylvia Danko, BSN, RN, OCN, CBCN, chosen by the Texas Nurses Association – District 5 as among its “Fabulous 5.” Danko was honored at the TNA annual banquet in May 2013.

Lisa Dugger, MSN, ACNS-BC, CDE, received the 2013 Rising Star Alumni Award by The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing.

Charlie Fox-Simpson, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, AACC, selected to serve as a member of the Ascension Seton Clinical Enterprise Board of Directors and also serves on its quality and credentialing committee.

Seth Gregory, MSN, RN, selected as a clinical reviewer for the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program – Pediatric.

Sheila Hale, RN, CRNI, VA-BC, selected for membership to the Association for Vascular Access Global Strategy Committee.

Rita Kluny, BSN, RN, MTh, BC-HN, CHTP (I), HTCP (I), invited to participate in the 57th United Nations Commission on the Status of Women to educate a global delegation of women on how to curb violence. The event was held at the U.N. headquarters in New York in March 2013.

Cindy Manning, RN, CBCN, chosen by the Texas Nurses Association – District 5 as among its “Fabulous 5.” Manning was honored at the TNA annual banquet in May 2013.

Nancy Mastronardi, MSN, RN, CPHQ, selected to serve on the American Nurses Association’s advisory committee to its Nurse Fatigue Professional Issues Panel.

Susan Russo, BSN, RN, elected as a “Favorite Oncology Professional” by Cure Search for Children’s Cancer, a national non-profit foundation.

Peggy O’Neil, RN, OCN, CBEC, CBCN, named the 2013 Central Texas Oncology Nurse of the Year.

Linda Sifuentes, RN, recognized by the Area Agency on Aging of the Capital Area for her volunteer service and advocacy for A Matter of Balance, an award-winning, eight-session, evidence-based program for adults older than 60 who have experienced falls, fear falls or are at risk of falling.

Yvonne VanDyke, MSN, RN, named one of 20 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellows for 2013.

Yvonne VanDyke, MSN, RN, honored with the Health Initiative Award at the 75th anniversary gala of the Beta Psi Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, a community service organization.

Linda SifuentesJoni Watson, MSN, RN, MBA, OCN, selected to serve on the National Oncology Nursing Society’s oncology nursing quality campaign team.

Laura Winslett, MSN, RN, CNS-BC, CNRN, CNOR, received the Austin Advanced Practice Nurses Organization’s APN Excellence Award.

Daisy Award Winners

Dell Children’s Medical Center of Central Texas

  • Jen Birkenheiser, BSN, RN
  • Darla Dodge, RN, CCRN
  • Vanessa Hernandez, BSN, RNC-NIC
  • Kindsay Leite, BA, RN
  • Erin Moore, BSN, RN
  • Laura Presley, BSN, RN, CPN
  • Paul Simmons, BN, RN
  • Carissa Stephens, BA, RN, CPN, CCRN
  • Anne Wood, MSN, RN

Ascension Seton Edgar B. Davis Hospital

  • Cristita Adams Racelis, BSN, RN
  • Denise George, RN

Shivers Cancer Center

  • Cassie Gossett, BSN, RN

Ascension Seton Medical Center Austin

  • Iris Barrera, RN
  • Sharon Burba, BSN, RN
  • Alison Faulconer, RN
  • Chuck Furlong, RN
  • Marcus Gasaway, RN
  • Jennifer Gravett, BSN, RN
  • June Hallidy, BSN, RN
  • Ina Holmes, RN
  • Julie Howell, RN
  • Mim Luetje, BSN, RN-BC, CVRN
  • Susan Muela, RN
  • Kristen Smith, BSN, RN

Ascension Seton Medical Center Hays

  • Tiffany Borromeo, RN
  • Jessica Fitch, BSN, RN
  • Jacque Goodman, BSN, RN
  • Angelique Ibarra, RN
  • Jennifer Martinez, RN
  • Melissa Minton, RN, CEN
  • Stephanie Riding, RNC-OB
  • Julie Schmiedeke, RN
  • Melissa Vermeulen, RN

Ascension Seton Northwest Hospital

  • Jay Owens, RN, CCRN, SNW IMC

Ascension Seton Medical Center Williamson

  • Christy Canion, RN
  • Ajisha Sankar, RN
  • Kathryn Sonoda, BSN, RN

University Medical Center Brackenridge

  • Allison Floyd, RN, CCRN
  • Sandra Hoover, BSN, RN
  • Rachael Love, BSN, RN
  • Laura Milburn, RN-BC
  • Bobby Robinson, BA, RN
  • Katie Scott, RN