Nursing Research in 2018

Ascension Providence Health Center

Alicia Grimes, BSN, RN – Cardiology Services, RN-Patient Navigator
Alicia.Grimes@ascension.org
Heart Failure Optimization Study–HF-OPT. Identification of patients and data entry of patients who meet qualifications for the study.

Strictly Pediatrics Medical Office Building

Ginger Burr, RN – SFC Endocrinology Clinic, RN-Clinic
grBurr@ascension.org
Co-Investigator: ANSWER Study

Ascension Seton Administrative Offices

Kimberly Lewis, PhD Candidate, MSN, RN – Network Research, Clinical Research Scientist RN
KALewis@seton.org
“1. PI: What is the Effect of Civility on RN Retention?
2. PI: Kawasaki Disease: A Metabolomics Analysis of Serum and Urine
3. PI: The intersection of pain, fatigue, and cardiovascular risk in teens with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis “

Dell Seton Medical Center

Leona Baxter, MSN, RN, PCCN – Intensive Care Unit, RN-Registered Nurse
LLBaxter@ascension.org
Co-PI: Researching correlation between RN Retention and Leadership Style.

Katy Starnes, RN, MSN – 7th Floor W Tower RN-Registered Nurse
KAStarnes@ascension.org
PI: Patient Call Back

Ascension Seton Medical Center Austin

Mary Roche, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC – Nursing Administration, RN Spv-House
MERoche@ascension.org
PI: A Study of Joyful Experiences Teaching Undergraduate Nursing in Central Texas Baccalaureate Programs

Davika Reid, MSN, RN – Neonatal ICU Unit, RN-Registered Nurse
DDReid@ascension.org
Adapting a web-based intervention for physical activity in persons with multiple sclerosis; graduate research assistant; performed all data collection

Larissa Alberson MSN, RN – Intensive Care Unit, RN-Registered Nurse
lkAlberson@ascension.org
Co-PI: Needs assessment to determine intent of practicing nurses to enter academia.

Emily Bryant MSN, RN – Mother Baby Unit, RN-Registered Nurse
EjBryant@ascension.org
Nutrition Knowledge, Attitudes, and Self-Regulation as Predictors of Overweight and Obesity. I participated in conceptualization, design of the study, data collection, drafted and revised the initial manuscript, and approved the final manuscript. This manuscript is in the process of being submitted for publishing by the “Journal of American Association of Nurse Practitioners”.

Medical Park Tower

Rebecca Cox MSN, RN, FNP-C – Cardiology Services, Nurse Pract-Presc Authority
RACox@ascension.org
PI: Guide HF research trial

Dell Children’s Medical Center

Teresa Stanley DNP, RN, NE-BC – Total Quality Management, Dir-Quality & Patient Safety
TaStanley@ascension.org
PI: Simulation in Patient Education: Caregiver Response to Tracheostomy Emergencies. Mixed methods study exploring the impact of simulation on caregivers’ confidence & competence with managing airway emergencies in the home in child s/p tracheostomy. (Publication in progress.)