Ascension Seton Fact Sheet


The roots of Ascension Seton go back to 1902, when a group of Austin citizens asked the Daughters of Charity to build a hospital. Founded in the 17th century by St. Vincent de Paul and St. Louise de Marillac, the Daughters have dedicated themselves to expressing God’s love through services to the sick, poor and vulnerable. The 40-bed hospital they built, the Ascension Seton Infirmary, would lead to the Ascension Seton Medical Center in 1975 and, over time, a network of 15 hospitals and about 100 clinical sites, including four teaching hospitals.

Ascension Seton is a member of Ascension, the nation’s largest nonprofit and Catholic healthcare system. Ascension’s Texas Ministry includes Ascension Seton and Providence Healthcare Network in Waco. Over the last century, Ascension Seton has grown from that first hospital to a network of more than 100 clinical locations across Central Texas, including four teaching hospitals.


Reinventing Health Care to Serve Patients

Ascension Seton has a new vision for health care: a person-centered model that is safer, more efficient and produces better results. We want to help people stay well, not just get well.

Ascension Seton embraces the value-based care movement that is reshaping the delivery of care and bending the cost curve; investing in technologies and staff will help patients better manage their chronic conditions – asthma, congestive heart failure, diabetes, etc. – and achieve a better quality of life.

Medical Education and Research

With The University of Texas System and The University of Texas at Austin, Ascension Seton is advancing innovative medical education and research. Ascension Seton hosts 12 residencies, five fellowship programs and a nurse residency program. Dell Ascension Seton Medical Center at The University of Texas, a modern teaching hospital, is surrounded by the university’s new Dell Medical School and related medical research facilities. These initiatives are expected to increase the supply of physicians and other caregivers in Central Texas and foster leading edge therapies. Commercialization of new treatments and medical devices will propel economic development in the region.


Chaplains of different faiths are available to provide spiritual and emotional support to patients and their families. Ascension Seton hosts an accredited interfaith clinical pastoral education program and offers an end-of-life volunteer companion program called No One Dies Alone.

Learn about resources devoted to spiritual development at Ascension.

Clinical Achievement

Ascension Seton medical centers have earned a reputation as leaders in clinical quality are international destinations for clinicians striving to improve the quality and accessibility of care and services. Seton’s Labor and Delivery service, the first recipient of the Texas Health and Human Services Quality Award, is a model for other hospitals. For more than two decades, the Ascension Seton Heart Specialty Care and Transplant Center has performed heart transplants and now offers ventricular assist devices (VADs) to advanced heart failure patients who do not qualify for transplants.


* Level I Trauma Centers | ** Level II Trauma Center | *** Anticipated Level II Trauma Center

Joint Venture Hospitals