Current Concepts in Spine Management:  Best Practices and New Technologies Conference Agenda

Friday, November 1, 2013

7:30 a.m. Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00 a.m. Welcome and Introduction
  Session Moderator: Mark Queralt, MD
8:00 a.m. Chronic Axial Low Back Pain: A Novel Interventional Approach
Enrique B. Pena, MD
8:20 a.m. Evidence Based Prescribing of Opioid Medications
Anand “Andy” Joshi, MD
8:40 a.m. Q & A
  Session Moderator: Anand “Andy” Joshi, MD
9:00 a.m. Central Texas in Healthcare in 2014:  Organizing our Delivery System
Jeff Cook & Greg Sheff, MD
9:15 a.m. Evidence Based Medicine and the Spine
George “Buddy” Tipton, MD
9:30 a.m. Spine Rehabilitation Options
Sylvia Deily, DC
9:45 a.m. Q & A
10:00 a.m. Coffee Break and Exhibits
  Session Moderator: Marcella Madera, MD
10:15 a.m. Postoperative Rehabilitation for 1 or 2 Level Lumbar Spinal Fusions
Trent McGinty, MSPT, Cert. MDT
10:30 a.m. Sacroiliitis and Spondyloarthropathy:  Early Clinical and Imaging Findings
Lee E. Moroz, MD
10:45 a.m. Minimally Invasive Lumbar Decompression
J. Neal Rutledge, MD, FACR
11:00 a.m. Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery Options
John K. Stokes, MD
11:15 a.m. Minimally Invasive Scoliosis Surgery
Matthew J. Geck, MD
11:30 a.m. Critical Analysis of Navigation and Robotics Use During Spine Surgery
Chetan Patel, MD
11:45 a.m. Q & A
12:00 p.m. Luncheon and Exhibits
  Session Moderator: Eeric Truumees, MD
1:00 p.m. Update on Biologics
Marcella Madera, MD
1:15 p.m. Cervical Arthroplasty
Daniel L. Peterson, MD, FACS
1:30 p.m. Minimally Invasive Lateral Interbody Fusion
Glenn E. Harper, MD
1:45 p.m. Q & A 
2:00 p.m. Coffee Break and Exhibits
  Session Moderator: Glenn E. Harper, MD
2:15 p.m. Radio Surgery for Spine Metastases
Ronald J. Wilson, MD
2:30 p.m. Hot Topics in Spine Surgery: Where Are We Now? How Did We Get Here? What Should You Do?
Eeric Truumees, MD
2:45 p.m. Q & A 
3:00 p.m. Error, Malpractice, and Complications: A Practical Approach
David M. Zientek, MD, FACC, FSCAI
4:00 p.m. Adjourn
image Seton is proud to have four hospitals – the only hospitals in Central Texas - that have earned the Magnet designation, the highest award for nursing excellence given by the American Nurses Association.