Find a Physician
Dana Sprute, MD

Home > Find a Physician > 

Contact Info

Blackstock Family Health Center
1313 Red River St Ste 100
Austin, TX 78701

Phone: (512) 324-8600
Fax: (512) 324-8612



Dana Sprute, MD, MPH, is a native of Idaho. Prior to medical school, she received a Master's in Public Health from the University of California at Los Angeles and worked in a variety of research and community education projects. She received her medical doctorate from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio in 1993 and was the graduating senior recipient of the Medical Dean's Award for Outstanding Commitment to Service. In 1996, Dr. Sprute completed her residency training through the Central Texas Medical Foundation Family Practice Residency (later DBA Austin Medical Education Program and now the UT Southwestern Austin Family Medicine Residency Program); she served as chief resident and has been practicing medicine in Austin since completing her residency. Dr. Sprute is currently the Residency Program Director of the UT Southwestern Austin Family Medicine Residency Program. In 2002, she completed a Faculty Development Fellowship through the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Department of Family Medicine.

Dr. Sprute has academic appointments as Assistant Professor of Family & Community Medicine with UT Southwestern and Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine with the University of Texas Medical Branch. She has been a faculty member with the Family Medicine Residency Program since 1998. Her practice activities include general primary and urgent care, chronic disease management and office procedures; her areas of special interest include women' health and preventive medicine. Dr. Sprute serves on the Texas Medical Association Council on Science & Public Health.

Views on political or religious issues expressed by medical staff may not necessarily represent the views of the Seton Healthcare Family.
image Seton is proud to have four hospitals – the only hospitals in Central Texas - that have earned the Magnet designation, the highest award for nursing excellence given by the American Nurses Association.