Find a Physician
John D. Oswalt, MD

Home > Find a Physician > 


Cardiothoracic Surgery


Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgeons

Contact Info

1010 W 40th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Phone: (512) 459-8753
Fax: (512) 459-0586


John D. Oswalt, M.D., is a Texas native, originally from Fort Stockton. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston and completed his General Surgery and Cardiothoracic Surgery residencies at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. Dr. Oswalt has practiced with Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgeons since 1980 and currently serves as president of the group. He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a Diplomate of the American Board of Surgery and American Board of Thoracic Surgery. Dr. Oswalt specializes in adult Cardiothoracic Surgery including heart transplantation, homograft valve replacement, Ross Procedure, mitral valve repair, and minimally invasive coronary artery bypass surgery. Dr. Oswalt currently serves as Director of Cardiac Surgery at Seton Medical Center. In addition, he organized and remains the head of Cardiac Transplantation at Seton. He has also served as president of the Texas Transplant Society. Dr. Oswalt was awarded Cardiac Care Provider of the Year in 1999 by the American Heart Association. He is an active member of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons, International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation, Donald Ross Surgical Society, Southern Thoracic Surgical Association, American Medical Association, Texas Medical Association, and the Travis County Medical Society. Dr. Oswalt has authored many research articles in his specialty. He is also a frequent speaker and surgical instructor on the Ross Procedure.
Views on political or religious issues expressed by medical staff may not necessarily represent the views of the Seton Healthcare Family.
image Seton is proud to have four hospitals – the only hospitals in Central Texas - that have earned the Magnet designation, the highest award for nursing excellence given by the American Nurses Association.