• Recognized by Health Workforce Solutions LLC as one of only 24 hospitals and health systems in the country – and the only one in Texas – for transforming how healthcare is delivered.
  • Named the highest-ranked healthcare system in Texas and among the top 100 integrated healthcare systems nationwide by Modern Healthcare magazine.
  • Recognized by IHI as a national model for obstetrical care.
  • Named by the Joint Commission as a recipient of the Ernest Amory Codman Award for the network’s Perinatal Safety Initiative.

Texas Nurses Association “Fabulous Five”

During National Nurses Week in 2008, LeeAnn Christie, RN, BSN, CCRN, and Sylvia Moore, RN, BSN, were recognized among the prestigious “Fabulous Five” by the Texas Nurses Association District 5. LeeAnn is a research coordinator, vice chair of the PICU and a member of Dell Children’s Pediatric Specialty Council, while Sylvia is a staff nurse in the Medical/Surgical unit at SNW. They were selected from 9,000 registered nurses for their leadership, compassion, role-modeling, community service and contributions to the profession of nursing.

Seton's Nurse Scholarship Endowment

Out of 75 applicants in 2008, 25 nurses were selected to receive $2,000 scholarships for a grand total of $50,000. The winners include:

Dell Children’s
LeeAnn Christie
Jamie Dark
Jeffrey Gregory
Monica Guerra
Philip MacIntyre
Holly Reinhardt

Seton Edgar B. Davis
Sofia Malik

Seton Community
Health Center

Maria Guerra

Seton Highland Lakes
Jamie Moran
Kim Smith

Seton Medical Center Austin
Michael Buckner
Kristi Campbell
Trina Mays
Isela Miranda
Marian Raygon
Nancy C. Trigg
Leigh Anne Wilmot

Seton Northwest
Laura Cassanova

University Medical Center Brackenridge
Nicole R. Boer
Barbara Farmer
Michele Graczyk
Brigid Russo
Stephanie A. Stager
Maria Tappan
Jessica Villalobos


The Seton Family of Hospitals is the only healthcare network in Central Texas with Magnet® hospitals, the highest mark of nursing excellence. In 2008, Dell Children’s Medical Center of Central Texas and Seton Medical Center Austin received Magnet re-designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association. They join Seton Northwest and University Medical Center Brackenridge, which were re-designated in 2007.

Magnet designation is associated with continuous dialogue, motivation, commitment and innovation from all levels of nursing – especially staff nurses whose contributions to professional nursing are at the core of an organization’s excellence. Magnet organizations are known for having strong collaborative interdisciplinary teams as well as excellent patient outcomes.

Pathway to Excellence
The Seton Family also includes three Pathway to Excellence™ hospitals – Seton Highland Lakes, Seton Southwest and Seton Edgar B. Davis.

Formerly known as “Texas Nurse Friendly,” the Pathway to Excellence designation is awarded by the ANCC to organizations that are committed to nurses and value their contributions as patient care partners.

Seton nurses are compassionate and innovative. They are empowered professionals and valued members of an exceptional healthcare team. Seton nurses are more than what meets the eye – every Seton nurse has a story.