Seton Leadership Team Susan M. Cox, MD

Home > About Seton > Seton Leadership Team > 

imageExecutive Vice Dean for Academics and Chair of Medical Education, Dell Medical School

Dr. Susan Cox was named to her current position in June 2014. Prior to that, she was with The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for 23 years, serving most recently as the UT Southwestern Regional Dean for Austin Programs.

As Executive Vice Dean for Academics, she oversees undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education, continuing medical education, accreditation and student affairs. She is also president-elect of the Alliance for Clinical Education. Dr. Cox also serves as chair for the Department of Medical Education at Dell Medical School. Before becoming executive vice dean, she was the interim senior associate dean of the medical school and helped lay the foundation for the school and its incoming inaugural dean.

 At UT Southwestern, her duties included oversight of the 94 ACGME-approved residency and fellowship programs; administrative responsibility for the university's Continuing Medical Education and Public Education programs; course director of the UT Southwestern Academic Colleges; and oversight for the UT Southwestern/Seton Austin Medical Education Programs.

Dr. Cox received her BS from West Texas State University in Canyon, Texas; her MA in Genetics and Cell Biology from The University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston; and an MD from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. She completed postgraduate training in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Baylor Medical Center in Houston and Maternal and Fetal Medicine training at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. She is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology, as well as Maternal Fetal Medicine.

 Her expanding interest in education led to significant scholarly activities in pursuit of excellence in education. Notably, her involvement with the Association of Professors in Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) and her participation in its Undergraduate Medical Education Committee (2001-2006) have resulted in a number of peer-reviewed journal articles and many other media stories, primarily in areas such as establishing educational objectives, recruitment, clerkship director development, faculty development, developing clinical skills, dealing with difficult students, teaching techniques and evaluation of students and programs. She is a past president of APGO and a past member of the Council of Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology. In 2006, she was elected to the UT System Academy of Educators and is also past president of the academy.

image Seton is proud to have four hospitals – the only hospitals in Central Texas - that have earned the Magnet designation, the highest award for nursing excellence given by the American Nurses Association.