News Seton Williamson is No. 1 in County in Advanced Trauma Care

Home > About Seton > 

Official Level II designation means high-quality, emergency care is now available close to home

Round Rock, TX - (June 14, 2011) - Seton Medical Center Williamson, a member of the Seton Healthcare Family, has been certified a Level II trauma center by the American College of Surgeons and State of Texas, reflecting a record of excellence in emergency care. This is the highest designation of any trauma center in Williamson County, making Seton the first and only hospital in the region designated for this advanced level of trauma care.

"This significant achievement means that Seton Williamson has all of the facilities and resources for handling trauma needs around the clock," said Dr. Neel Ware, MD, medical director for the trauma center at Seton Williamson. "Time is of the essence for injured patients. Therefore, having comprehensive trauma services located close to home is of critical importance for patient care."

Advanced capabilities, specialized medical staff and 24-hour/seven day per week accessibility to services are just a few benefits of a Level II trauma center. Other advantages include, advanced medical specialists available onsite such as neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, cardiothoracic and vascular surgeons, and plastic surgeons.


"Trauma care is an essential part of our community's safety, along with fire authorities, police protection and emergency medical services," noted Williamson County Commissioner, Lisa Birkman. "This is a very important milestone for Williamson County. The Level II trauma designation means that Seton Williamson can take care of many seriously injured patients' right here in our own community, who otherwise may have been transported to another county."

As part of the designation process, Seton Williamson has been delivering Level II trauma care since last year by enhancing its medical technology and bringing in expertly trained staff to provide specialized care.
The hospital is an extension to the region's only sophisticated trauma network established by the Seton Healthcare Family and anchored to Seton's two Level I trauma centers, University Medical Center Brackenridge and Dell Children Medical Center of Central Texas, the only Level I trauma centers in Central Texas. Seton Williamson is connected to these facilities via rapid transport and telemedicine, if necessary.


"Citizens in Williamson County are indeed fortunate to have such high quality medical care on par with other major metropolitan areas," commented Joe Granberry, Deputy Director Williamson County EMS. "EMS congratulates Seton Medical Center Williamson on obtaining Level II trauma center accreditation from the American College of Surgeons."

The demonstrable teamwork and relationship with EMS providers, including STAR Flight access via an onsite helipad, was favorably received by the reviewing team at the American College of Surgeons.

"This designation was possible because of significant investments made to enhance Seton Williamson's trauma care, and is representative of our commitment to make quality and advanced care more convenient to patients," noted Seton Williamson chief operating officer Michelle Robertson. "With Seton, Williamson County residents have access to the best possible trauma care in the region whenever they need it."

Browse Seton News

from the

News Media Contacts

Media Inquiries (Business Hours)
(512) 324-1980

Media Inquiries (Nights/Weekends)
(512) 324-5812

image Seton is proud to have four hospitals – the only hospitals in Central Texas - that have earned the Magnet designation, the highest award for nursing excellence given by the American Nurses Association.